#BlogTour – LUZ by Leslie DJ


Title: Luz
Author: Leslie DJ
Release Date: March 23rd, 2017
Genre: Women’s Fiction

Luz Vargas is a promising young Latina writer from Washington Heights, a predominantly Dominican neighborhood in New York City. Who upon receiving top honors for her short story, “Here and There” from the prestigious Quisqueya Writers of Tomorrow Association, Luz’s boyfriend, Luke, suggests a couple’s getaway to the Dominican Republic where he plans to propose. But when the trip to the Island brings her face to face with a past love, Luz is torn between honoring her commitment to Luke and revisiting an island romance.

The story is told through a series of vignettes that chronicle Luz’s struggle to reconcile her American identity with her Dominican side.

guest-post

Tell me what made you want to become a writer?

Writing is the one thing that comes easy to me. I carry pen and paper everywhere I go, I try using notes on my iPhone but it’s not the same, there’s just something about jotting down thoughts on paper that is calming for me. I was a very shy kid growing up and sometimes wouldn’t speak so I found it easier to write the things I wish I had the courage to say.  I didn’t know it then but I was creating characters and writing dialogue.
What are you reading right now?

 “The Princess Diarist” by Carrie Fisher. I love and miss her daily. She meant a lot to me; her outspokenness, her courage when it came to talking about addiction and mental health, it breaks my heart knowing she is no longer around.

If you’re a TV watcher, what are you addicted to?

 The Real Housewives are my drug! I’m addicted to that franchise. I started with New York, then Beverly Hills now I watch them all. I can’t get enough. Nothing satisfies me more than seeing middle-aged women with frozen Botox faces screaming at each other.

 
What’s a hobby you have that’s got nothing to do with books?

 I’m a big music lover and since I can’t play an instrument or carry a tune I interview those who can. I host a weekly radio show at a college station called Sinister Girlz Live on 94.3FM WBMBM. I get to program the music I love and expose listeners to new or interesting female musicians and occasionally they stop in and perform live. It’s lots of fun!

 What is your favorite season?

Fall, not too hot not too cold. I love watching the leaves change. I also tend to fall in love in the fall.

Tell me your favorite part of the writing process?

Being done! Writing is hard! Although stories or ideas come very easily to me, making something coherent, cohesive and worthwhile takes a lot of time and effort. I love the finished product, holding the book in my hand and looking back at my notes and marveling at the fact that it went from a stack of notes to a paperback.

Now the writing process you hate the most?

 Receiving notes from my editor and having her say, “I don’t get why your character would do this or that” or “this makes no sense” because to me it all makes perfect sense, in my mind it’s clear but I did a poor job of transferring that to the page. So I go back and think, “ok, what am I trying to convey here…” refer to my notes and try to remember why I was so passionate about that one passage that makes no sense.

 Do you have a favorite writing spot that you get the most done?

 My bed! I prop all my pillows up, turn on my laptop, turn on my TV for background noise and get writing.

What are you working on now?

I am in the very early stages of writing the sequel to my first book, “That Girl” I have a few scenes written out, a killer opening and tons of notes and points I want to hit. I’m hoping to release that by end of 2018.

Coffee, Wine or something else?

Coffee in the morning, Wine every other time of the day.

What was the last movie you saw in the theater and what you thought of it?

I just saw La La Land in theatres I know I’m late to the party but it was wonderful and inspiring. Knowing that the writer and director is a millennial just like me made me want to write more and get myself out there a little more.

 

tour-stops

It’s a Book Tour:

Make sure you check out all the stops on this fabulous tour!

March 23rd

Kristin’s Novel Cafe – Book Excerpt
Blog on the Run – Author Guest Post

March 24th

For the Love of Chick Lit – Book Review

March 25th

Judging More Than Just The Cover – Author Q&A

March 26th

Wonderfully Bookish – Book Excerpt

March 27th

He Said Books or Me – Author Guest Post

March 28th

ItaPixie’s Book Corner – Book Review/Excerpt

March 29th

Tea Party Princess – Author Guest Post

March 30th

Book Lover in Florida – Book Excerpt/Author Q&A

 


Say Hello to author Leslie DJ!

Leslie DJ is a Dominican-American writer and radio personality who resides in the Washington Heights neighborhood of New York City. She is the writer and founder of SinisterGirlz.com, an online publication that features written and audio music related content. She hosts Sinister Girlz Live on WBMB Baruch College Radio 94.3 FM New York on Fridays at 4pm EST.

Her debut novel, “That Girl” was released in September of 2016 and is available on Amazon.com

She graduated with a BA in Theatre Arts with a concentration in Playwriting from Marymount Manhattan College and received her MFA in Creative Writing with a concentration in Fiction from The New School of General Studies.

Website | Facebook | GoodReads

Tour arranged by – For the Love of Book Tours
Now booking tours for April-May-June
Grab your spot today!

Leave a Reply

