#BlogTour #GuestPost #Giveaway – PLAYING HOUSE by Laura Chapman

 

 806f0-playing2bhouse

Synopsis

She’s a work in progress . . .

Bailey Meredith has had it. As an assistant at a prestigious interior design firm, she’s tired of making coffee and filing invoices. She’ll do just about anything to get out from under the paperwork and into the field for real experience. Then she sees an ad for a job that seems too good to be true.

He’s a fixer upper . . .

Wilder Aldrich knew she would be perfect for the crew the moment he saw her. His hit home improvement show only hired the best, and Bailey had potential written all over her. It isn’t just her imaginative creativity and unmatched work ethic that grabs his attention. There’s just something about her.

With chemistry on screen, it’s only a matter of time before sparks fly behind the scenes as well. But with Bailey’s jaded views on romance and a big secret that could destroy Wilder and everyone he cares about are either of them willing to risk it all for love?

Now Available! Find it on: Amazon | Apple | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

guest-post

I’m an author, which means I love talking about my book. So. Much. Almost to the point that I’m sure everyone around me gets tired of hearing about that.

I’m also a reader, which means I equally love gushing about the other stories that have captured my attention and imagination. In that spirit, and because I don’t want people to get sick of hearing my gush about my newest book, Playing House, I thought I’d share a few of my latest reads along with my thoughts on them.

Here we go . . .

New Attitude by Kathryn R. Biel

Just released last week, I was honored to beta read this book for Kathryn. Clever and funny, fast-paced and well-told, this was an easy, beta-read for me, because I loved it. Featuring a plus-sized heroine who has to overcome her own self-doubts and personal setbacks to find happiness and a new chance at love, there’s a lot to like in this one.

Link: https://kathrynbiel.blogspot.com/p/blog-page.html

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer

I’m a fan of Trainwreck and Inside Amy Schumer, so I naturally had to check out her memoir. Honest and often funny, I learned a thing or two about comedy’s it girl. It also has just enough kissing and telling and name dropping to feed my inner Hollywood gossip queen. (I also admittedly spent half an hour Googling who might be the hocky player she mentions later in the book.)

Link: http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/The-Girl-with-the-Lower-Back-Tattoo/Amy-Schumer/9781501139888

To Have and To Hold by Lauren Layne

Lauren Layne is my new favorite author to stalk, I mean follow, on social media. She’s prolific, which I find inspiring and motivating (though not motivating enough to stop hitting “next episode” in my current re-watching binge of Mad Men on Netflix). So, I figured I should probably read one of her books. This is the first in the Wedding Belles series, and I’m a fan of books about weddings and wedding planners (go figure). This was a well-written, fast-paced read with plenty of good steam and a strong female lead. I’d definitely check out the rest of the series.

Link: http://laurenlayne.com/to-have-and-to-hold/

I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her Mark by Debbie Levy, Illustrated by Elizabeth Baddeley

I don’t have children of my own and my nieces and nephews are past the picture book stage, so it’s been a long time since I have read an illustrated book. This one caught my attention in the days leading up to Galentine’s Day and I couldn’t resist. I’m a big fan of the Notorious RBG, so I went into this story with a lot of hopes, and it delivered. I learned a lot and found new reasons to admire her. Regardless of whether or not you agree with her positions, RBG is a trailblazer who overcame great adversity to reach her current position, which is an empowering and worthy story to pass on.

Link: http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/I-Dissent/Debbie-Levy/9781481465595

Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand In the Sun and Be Your Own Person by Shonda Rhimes

This book is my fight song. Most of my friends have heard me talk about this book ad nausem since I read it a month ago, but it really hit me. As a fellow introverted author who has taken to saying “no” to the things that scare me, I found it relatable. I also found myself laughing out loud more often than I would’ve imagined. Whether or not you’re a fan of Shonda’s TV shows, it’s a great, inspiring read.

Link: http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Year-of-Yes/Shonda-Rhimes/9781476777122

My Reads

And to close it out, here’s a list of the books currently at the top of my to-be-read-as-soon-as-I-finish-this-book-launch-and-the-first-draft-of-my-next-manuscript pile:

  • The Lady Travelers Guide to Scoundrels and Other Gentleman by Victoria Alexander (I received an ARC from the author, and I’m excited to read-it-before-you-can-buy-it, something I haven’t really done since my book review days)
  • The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher
  • Seven Minutes in Heaven by Eloisa James
  • The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson
  • You Are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life by Jen Sincero

What are you reading and loving? Please leave a comment—I’m always looking for new stories to add to my list.

 

MeetTheAuthor

5e949-laura2bchapmanLaura Chapman is the author of First & Goal, Going for Two, Three & Out, The Marrying Type, and Playing House. A native Nebraskan, she loves football, Netflix marathons, and her cats, Jane and Bingley. She loves talking to readers. You can connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. You can also get the latest news from her website, blog, and monthly newsletter.

 

 

Giveaway

This month, during the Playing House blog tour, you can enter the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win one of 1 free Audible copy each of The Marrying Type, First & Goal,  Going for Two or 1 $20 Amazon gift card.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

One thought on “#BlogTour #GuestPost #Giveaway – PLAYING HOUSE by Laura Chapman

Leave a Reply

