#BlogTour #NewRelease – CHASING SHADOWS by T.A. Williams

Chasing Shadows by T. A. Williams

chasing-shadows-blog-tour-2

  chasing-shadows

Title: Chasing Shadows

Author: T. A. Williams

Release Date: 16th January 2017

Genre: Romance

Publisher: Canelo

Format: Ebook

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33401178-chasing-shadows

Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01N6GGI1G

 

Synopsis

Amy had it all – money, brains and beauty. And then the accident happened.

The Present Day: Left blind and without her family, Amy feels she needs to get away. On a trip along the Camino, she is accompanied by the mysterious and troubled Luke. Having been set up to help Amy by a mutual friend, Luke finds he is also running from his past…

 

1314: A Templar Knight, Luc, is also running. He meets the wife of a former comrade, now blinded in a terrifying attack: Aimee. Taking her under his wing, they must journey together through a dangerous world.

 

As they travel through the stunning scenery of Northern Spain, this couple, so very like Luke and Amy, emerge from the shadows of time carrying a treasure of inestimable value.

guest-post

T.A. (Trevor) Williams talks about his latest book, Chasing Shadows

   And now for something completely different… Well, not that different, really. Over the past few years I’ve been writing romantic comedies, in particular the What Happens… series, that have proved to be a popular mix of romance, humour, exotic locations and, of course, a big black Labrador. And now I’m turning my hand to a time slip novel set part in the present day and part in the Middle Ages. But is it really so different?

   I’ve always been hooked on history and, for some reason, on medieval history in particular. The hero of one of my early books, The Room on the Second Floor, is a professor of medieval history, obsessed by Saint Bernard of Clairvaux. In my last book, What Happens at the Beach, Natalie, the heroine, gets a job working alongside an author researching the Cathars of southern France who were ruthlessly eliminated by the Catholic Church back in the thirteenth century. So, the signs have been there all along. Now I’ve let the history element come to the fore a bit more. But, I would suggest, Chasing Shadows isn’t that different from my other books.

   The heroine, Amy, has had a very rough time and this book sees her on the long, hard road to recovery. In many ways, the same could be said for some of my other books. Take What Happens in the Alps for instance. Annie has lost her husband in a tragic climbing accident and the book tells her tale of trying to make a fresh start. So, the basic premise isn’t that different. The difference is that in Chasing Shadows the modern couple are shadowed by their medieval counterparts, but the problems they face as not that different. All right, in my romantic comedies nobody is being hunted by ruthless soldiers bent on their capture and torture, and nobody has to walk 500 miles through mountainous terrain, but both couples, modern and medieval, share similar mental torment. One thing I have enjoyed while writing Chasing Shadows has been the realisation that people living seven hundred years ago weren’t that different to us. They laughed at the same things, cried at the same things and were afraid of the same things. I really hope that the similarities between modern Amy and her medieval counterpart shine through.

   Apart from the history element, there are a few other differences. First is the fact that, for once, you get to see inside the head of the male protagonist. Traditionally, up to now, the men in my books have been handsome (a lot more handsome than me), intelligent, caring, but an unknown quantity. My heroines and my readers have had to guess what is going on inside their heads. The hero of Chasing Shadows is Luke. You won’t be surprised to hear that he is handsome, intelligent and caring, but you may be surprised to read just what thoughts are going through his head. Amy isn’t the only one who has been dealt a pretty poor hand and both of them, in their own way, are damaged goods.

   The other major difference, and I apologies profusely for this, is the fact that in Chasing Shadows, there is no Labrador. I know, tragic, isn’t it? There’s a brief cameo by a Pyrenean Mountain Dog, but that’s your lot. Partly, this is due to the logistics of the book. The book recounts a journey from France, over the mountains and all the way to Santiago de Compostela in north west Spain, and a Lab would have made finding accommodation in luxurious hotels a bit tricky for the modern couple. Also a dog accompanying them would have made the medieval couple’s attempts to escape from the bad guys more difficult. It’s a shame, I know, but I hope the lack of a canine hero won’t spoil the book for you.

   I hope you will enjoy reading Chasing Shadows as much as my other books. I certainly had a lot of fun researching and writing it.

MeetTheAuthor

TAWilliamsMy name is Trevor Williams. I write under the androgynous name T A Williams because 65% of books are read by women. In my first book, “Dirty Minds” one of the (female) characters suggests the imbalance is due to the fact that men spend too much time getting drunk and watching football. I couldn’t possibly comment. Ask my wife…

My background, before taking up writing full time, was in teaching and I was principal of a big English language school for many years. This involved me in travelling all over the world and my love of foreign parts is easy to find in my books. I speak a few languages and my Italian wife and I still speak Italian together.

I’ve written all sorts: thrillers, historical novels, short stories and now I’m enjoying myself hugely writing humour and romance. My most recent books are the What happens… series. What happens in Tuscany reached #1 in the Amazon.uk Romantic Comedy chart and What Happens on the Beach, the last in the series, came out in July. Chasing Shadows is still romance, but with the added spice of a liberal helping of medieval history, one of my pet hobbies. I do a lot of cycling and I rode all the way to Santiago de Compostela on a bike a few years back. This provided both the inspiration and the background research for Chasing Shadows.

I’m originally from Exeter, and I’ve lived all over Europe, but now I live in a little village in sleepy Devon, tucked away down here in south west England. I love the place.

Website: http://www.tawilliamsbooks.com/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/TAWilliamsbooks

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/TrevorWilliamsBooks

 

 

tour-stops

Monday 16th January

Linda’s Book Bag

Summer Reads and Moonlight Dreams

Tuesday 17th January

Fiction Fascination

It Takes a Woman

Wednesday 18th January

Annie’s Book Corner

Tea Party Princess

Thursday 19th January

YA Yeah Yeah

Bound 2 Escape

Friday 20th January

Jess Hearts Books

Whispering Stories

Saturday 21st January

A Daydreamer’s Thoughts

Sunday 22nd January

Big Book Little Book

Monday 23rd January

Tales of Yesterday

Liv’s Wonderful Escapes

Tuesday 24th January

Kraftireader

Book Lover in Florida

Wednesday 25th January

Grassmonster

Han’s Book Reviews

Thursday 26th January

Splashes into Books

Fabulous Book Fiend

Friday 27th January

Crooks on Books

Ali the Dragon Slayer

Saturday 28th January

Portobello Book Blog

What’s Better Than Books

Sunday 29th January

Rae Reads

YA Under My Skin

chasing-shadows-blog-tour-3

Leave a Reply

