#BlogTour #Giveaway – ONE MORE TIME IS NOT ENOUGH by Belle Ami

One More Time Is Not Enough
Belle Ami
(The Only One, #3)
Published by: Soul Mate Publishing
Publication date: July 13th 2016
Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense

Adelia Lindstrom Bremen seems to have it all: Wealth, beauty, perfect twin children, two men in love with her, and a career she loves. But, beneath the veneer of success and prosperity lies disappointment, tragedy, and unending lies. Her parents were murdered, her marriage ended in a custody battle, and she is swept up in a love triangle. Now she has discovered the existence of a half-sister who wants nothing to do with her.

The only thing that could make matters worse is if she were to become the target of a serial killer—that’s about to happen.

Goodreads / Amazon

Excerpt

Chapter 4

Northern California

Route One

The sports car hugged the road as David downshifted into a hairpin curve on Route One. Adelia brushed the wind-blown wisps of hair that had escaped her braid from her eyes. She leaned her head against the headrest and absorbed the late-summer sunshine. The radio station The Highway blared over the radio, competing with the engine’s roar.

At the academy, David had fallen in love with country music, thanks to Preston. A song came on the radio, and he turned up the volume.

“Listen to the words, I believe this is our song.”

She tried to read his eyes but his dark aviator sunglasses hid them. With her curiosity piqued, she listened. A sexy baritone voice filled the air.

“When you walked through the door

I knew . . . you were the one

My heart said hello, but my head said run

Before I knew it, I’d asked you to dance

Time stands still in the arms of romance

Pulled you close, kissed your lips, felt your fingers

in my hair.

Turning slowly, falling fast, trying hard not to care.

You’re like whiskey and music

With your hands all over me

Turnin’ me on, like a sexy song

Making it hard for me to breathe

I should have seen the writing on the wall

One more time is not enough

When there’s nowhere left to fall.”

Adelia switched off the radio and turned away from him as she fought back her tears. “Are you trying to hurt me? I don’t remember you ever being cruel.”

“No, I’m trying to be honest with you. We both know this magical escape is an illusion. A week from now I’ll go to Washington and you’ll go back to your kids, and Miles will convince you to remarry him. Just like the song says, ‘One more time is not enough, when there’s nowhere left to fall.’ We were never meant to be.

“You don’t know a thing, David Weiss.” Frustration simmered inside of her. “Can’t you for once just live in the moment?”

“One of us has to try and keep the moment real.”

“I still don’t understand why you had to join the FBI? You’ve made it impossible for us to be together. It’s as if you’re doing everything in your power to put obstacles in our way. All your professed love for me, was it all a lie?”

He reached over and took her hand, raising it to his lips, then kissed her knuckles. “I’d take a bullet for you, and you know it.”

“Then show me what you feel, show me you love me.”

“I’m here, aren’t I? Isn’t that enough.”

She turned away from him. “No, it’s not. Like the song says, it will never be enough.”

***

David had spent most of the drive to Big Sur contemplating his feelings for Adelia without finding any resolve. Now, as they crossed over the Bixby Creek Bridge and its three-hundred-and-twenty-foot arched span, the sun was low in the sky. On their left, waves dashed against rocky pointed monoliths that dotted the coastline. With a massive force, the waves crashed, breaking into spume and spray before being absorbed once more into the living, breathing Pacific. The natural beauty of Big Sur enlivened their spirits as they approached their destination. He made the turn into the Post Ranch Inn and wound up the road through open meadows, to the resort perched like an eagle’s aerie on a cliff.

Adelia had insisted he leave everything to her, but nothing prepared him for the rustic, elegant, cliff house suite with its floor to ceiling windows.         

“David, go outside and enjoy the view. I’ll be there in a minute.”

“It’s like being in a bird’s nest in the sky,” he admired.

Opening the slider, he walked out to the marble deck. Two teak deck chairs were poised beside a stainless steel hot tub, cast with a stylistic resemblance to a Calder stabile. Steam rose invitingly. He imagined that the sunset would be beautiful. All that’s missing is crashing cymbals. Instead, there were only the sounds of birds twittering, and the distant roar of pounding surf.

“A penny for your thoughts?” She handed him a glass of chardonnay and placed an ice bucket and bottle on a table.

His eyes drank her in. She’d changed into a long floral skirt and a bulky fisherman’s cashmere sweater. Her black hair was long and loose reminding him of a gypsy, or a throwback to the sixties.

An uncontrollable desire seized his loins—to see her beneath him, his fingers wrapped through her dark disheveled tresses, her lips parted for him.

“David, what are you thinking?”

“Nothing.” He looked away. “Just admiring the beauty around here.”

“I could have sworn you were looking at me.”

He kept his eyes from her and changed the subject. “I’ve always thought that there was nowhere prettier than Santa Barbara, but this . . . this is something else. Jesus, Adelia, did you have to pick the most romantic spot on earth?”

Her eyes sparkled with amusement. “I’m glad you like it, but you and I both know I could have picked Disneyland and you would have thought it romantic.” She inched her chair close enough to lean her head on his shoulder. “As a child, I rode every year at the Pebble Beach Horse Show. We sometimes stayed a night in Big Sur, not here, this place wasn’t built yet. My parents loved it up here, the laid-back lifestyle and the raw beauty of untamed nature, so different from their own hectic careers. I haven’t been back here in years.” She raised her eyes to his. “I’m so happy you agreed to come.”

David fought the urge to kiss her. Her head on his shoulder was so innocent, so every day, yet it awoke his desire. His heart grew heavy with his longing, because he knew all he would ever have of her would be a few stolen moments. “When have I ever said no to you?”

“When you left me in Palm Beach.”

“You know how difficult that was for me.”

“Yes, I know all about the selfless David Weiss, who always does the right thing.”

“You make it sound like a character flaw.”

“I think in this instance it is.”

“Adelia, I’m not a saint, I’m just a realist. We live in different worlds. You need someone who’s there for you twenty-four-seven. The FBI will never allow me to be that man. We both need to face the truth.”

Her response was slow in coming. “Can we please just enjoy this moment? The FBI isn’t here right now, I am.”

Previous books in the series:

20896217 22448601

 

Author Bio:

Belle Ami is an accomplished pianist, world traveler, skier and gourmet cook. She lives in Calabasas, CA and is currently finishing her sequel to The One entitled The One and More, the second novel in her (The Only One) series. She also has a self-published novel in another genre that was awarded Finalist for a major book reward.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!
$25 Amazon gift card
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour #Giveaway – ONE MORE TIME IS NOT ENOUGH by Belle Ami

Leave a Reply

