#ReleaseDay #GuestPost #Review – GAMER GIRL by Glynis Astie

Gamer Girl

5 Stars

BUY THE BOOK!!!

Review

This book mixed in chick lit romance with some nerdy video-gameness. It was a great touch to have the video game story in each chapter as well. The author integrated the video game storyline very well and the writing was smooth to follow. Great read next to the pool over the weekend! I am not a fan of video games but I truly enjoyed reading this story since it mixed in some romantic comedy and chick lit. Highly recommend!

I was given a free copy in exchange for an honest review.


Synopsis

Struck by tragedy at an early age, Meri Palmer escaped into the only world she understood. Within the virtual realm of online gaming, she lived a life filled with mythical creatures and thrilling adventures, where she was strong, powerful, clever, and beautiful—everything she believed she wasn’t in real life. As the years went by, her desire to cling to her cherished fantasyland only grew stronger.

But when Meri meets Morgan, equal parts gorgeous and goofball, she begins to wonder if the time has finally come to rejoin the so-called real world. Channeling the bravery of her fairy warrior alter ego, Meri slowly lets Morgan beyond the protective walls she’s built around her heart. Just as she finds a comfortable groove in an uncertain world, Morgan succumbs to insecurities of his own, leaving her lost and confused. Through her battle to regain her equilibrium, Meri will discover that even in reality, things aren’t always what they seem.

Will Meri win the battle raging in her heart and summon the will to rescue her knight in shining armor? Or will she give in to the fear and find her game over?


GUEST POST BY THE AUTHOR, GLYNIS ASTIE!!!

Summer Essentials

Summer is so close, I can almost taste it! This means I can start coveting my summertime activities. And what’s at the top of my list? Hot new books! Summer is the time for beach reads, so my favorite authors will be offering up some amazing options. I’m already chomping at the bit for Falling by Jane Green, First Comes Love by Emily Giffin and By the Numbers by Jen Lancaster. Not to mention that I haven’t read Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella yet. Where has the time gone?

To prepare for my summer of reading, I need to gather a few necessary supplies. After all, reading is a sport just like any other, is it not?

chari.jpg

            A comfy beach chair

            Truth be told, most of my reading will not be done at the beach, but I like to pretend I’m there, so I go all out with my equipment. I’m in need of a new chair this year, so I think I may expand my horizons a bit. This set has not one, but two chairs, an umbrella, a cooler AND cup holders. Go big or go home, right? Plus, now I can invite a friend to join in my reading extravaganza. During our breaks we can have snacks and discuss our reading experiences.

towel.jpg

A fluffy new beach towel

            Sure, I have my chair all set, but now it’s time to make it just right for reading. (Goldilocks was onto something!) Most chair fabric is a bit rough, so I like to soothe my sensitive skin with a soft towel. And since my new chair set is monochromatic, why not find something flashy? Check out this sweet flamingo towel from Martha Stewart!

hat.jpg

A gorgeous, wide-brimmed hat

            For those days when I feel like coming out from under the umbrella and soaking up the sun, I will need a small degree of protection, which starts with this incredible hat. I will lounge in my comfy chair, reading my book, all the while imagining myself to possess the elegance of Audrey Hepburn. Then I’ll get up in search of something, fall flat on my face and remember what a klutz I am. That’s okay! I will have enjoyed those few moments of imagined bliss.

sunscreen.jpg

            Coconut scented sunscreen

            The next step in my sun protection comes from this amazing sunscreen. It offers a solid level of SPF protection, is all natural and has a fresh coconut scent. It even nourishes your skin! Not only will this glorious product keep my skin safe (I burn really easily), but if I close my eyes and inhale the scent, I can pretend I’m on a tropical island.

coffee.jpg

A generous supply of iced coffee

            Though I love a trip to Starbucks as much as the next girl, the amount of iced coffee I go through with my summer reading is astronomical. Imagine my delight to find this recipe from Eugenie Kitchen for a copycat of my beloved iced caramel macchiato! As long as I keep the necessary supplies in my kitchen, I’ll have enough caffeine to propel me through my reading list—and anything else life throws at me!

That just about does it. As long as I have my summer essentials, I’ll be good to go. Ooooh! I almost forgot the snacks! My kids spend a lot of time with me during the summer, so there’s always a generous supply of granola bars and Pirate’s Booty (the rice and corn puffs, not the treasure) at my fingertips, both of which go nicely with coffee.

So, tell me, what’s on your list of summer essentials? Give me the good stuff!

MeetTheAuthor

Glynis Astie Glynis never expected in her wildest dreams to be a writer. After thirteen years in the Human Resources Industry, she decided to stay at home with her two amazing sons. Ever in search of a project, she was inspired to write the story of how, in only six short months, she met and married her wonderfully romantic French husband, Sebastien. The end result became her first novel, French Twist. As this was just the beginning of their epic love story, Glynis continued to chronicle their adventures in the sequel, French Toast, and the final installment in the series, French Fry. After she finished milking her life story for all it was worth, she decided to write straight-up fiction with Gamer Girl, which infuses her beloved chick lit with a hint of fantasy.

When Glynis is not writing, she is trying to keep the peace amongst the three men and two cats in her life, finding missing body parts (Lego pieces are small!), supervising a myriad of homework assignments and keeping a tenuous hold on her sanity by consuming whatever chocolate is in the vicinity.

If you are interested in Glynis’ musings on a variety of topics, please follow her on her BLOG, Facebook, Twitterand Pinterest.


E-Book: 313 pages
Publisher: Tikinou Publishing (May 31, 2016)
Language: English
ASIN: B01F7Q5YRU
List Price: $2.99

Paperback: 327 pages
Publisher: Tikinou Publishing; 1st edition (May 31, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0692697721
ISBN-13: 978-0692697726
List Price: $9.99

Book Excerpts 

2 thoughts on “#ReleaseDay #GuestPost #Review – GAMER GIRL by Glynis Astie

Leave a Reply

